top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Walsh

Describing light

When darkness falls it becomes a beacon, the light leaking through the façade. My movements are highlighted by the escaping lights, guiding me away from the darkness.

Like a moth I am pulled closer, trying to catch the light and keep it for my own.

Through the gap in the walls I slip into the corridor following the wispy tendrils of light climbing along the walls. My shadow looms behind chasing me deeper.

I run my hands along the textured surface and the light transforms them into long shadows and changes them from blue to green to red and yellow.

I look at my feet, but the floor has disappeared into darkness. If I can’t see it how do I know if I am walking on the ground or the sky? I continue my journey floating through the sky.

As I draw closer, my path is blocked altering my route and guiding me further away from the glowing interior with every step. My whole-body protests trying to pull me back towards the light, but the walls gently pull me in. All corridors must end, and all tunnels must travel towards a light?

I once again plunge into darkness until I look above and once again I can see light seeping through the tectonics of the building. The roof balances on beams of light. I reach up trying to touch it, but it remains undisturbed streaming across blurring the roof. But perhaps there is no roof only sky? Sky above and sky below the only thing certain is bathed in the neon light.

As I push on further through the darkness the walls begin to break in a rhythm giving me a chance to peer through to the bright interior. The sounds of the room are finally audible above the silence. The sounds of people and life which have been caught in the light. Encouraged by the glimpses of my destination I begin to run, my feet now visible, and firmly planted on the ground, they flash in the sharp light.

Turning a corner, the light at the end of the corridor draws me closer. It lights up the textures of the walls giving them life. They flash and shift as the light moves and the building breathes. My heavy breaths synchronise with its pulse connecting me to the building and pulling me further in. I stop to catch my breath and lean my back against the wall, my fingers trace the decoration carved into its surface. In the light my body becomes part of the building, shifting flashing and breathing in harmony.

I finally enter the central room and the building sighs. The buzz of people has been collected around the lights, finally I was no longer alone. Together we experience the room and begin to become indistinguishable from it in the unnatural breathing light. I sit and collide with the room finally becoming a complete part of it. Breathing in the light and blowing out the light with each exhale.

The lights traced the room, with each colour change the room's mood shifts. Each shift alters how I see the room, I notice and unnoticed each detail. The patterns etched into the walls tell a story as they are manipulated by the light. Their previous identities and purposes have been stripped from them and the light has united them in its glow.

Time fluctuates with the light, seconds passing in its pulsing beat. I don’t know how long I have been here. I must leave, I follow the walls around finding a way to pass back into the darkness.

I step into the corridor again, the light and sounds of the room still spills into the dark. My eyes adjust, and I find the beauty in the shadows. The walls reflect the fading light maintaining it for as long as it can. In the mirrors I see a second room bathed in daylight. But it is night…

I followed the reflection out of the gloom into the day. The light trickled down from the ceiling, but it didn’t come from outside. In the bright daylight the walls were no longer distorted, the grooves and etches made arches and pillars embedded into the building. Their original purpose was now revealed and looked out of place in this new architectural world.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page